Disney English点评

已找到符合搜索的25条评价 查看 30 条评论
排序方式: 是否有帮助 | 评分 | 时间
2.0
劳逸平衡
薪酬/福利
工作保障/升迁机会
管理层
工作文化
A good place to get a name on your resume
Foreign Trainer (离职员工) –  北京市2020年1月9日
This is a good job to have for a year to gain some experience and get a name on your resume. There is no chance to move up. There is almost no time off. The culture can get poisonous and like high school. Career development is at an all time low.
A great place to go an gain some experience and then return to your home country.
优点
Free Disney Park entry
缺点
No time off
这篇点评对您有用吗?报告
4.0
劳逸平衡
薪酬/福利
工作保障/升迁机会
管理层
工作文化
Fun and secure company
Foreign Trainer (离职员工) –  南京市2019年12月31日
Working in China can be a pain and having the ability to work for an American company gives you a little bit more stability than some of the local importers of teachers.
这篇点评对您有用吗? 1报告
2.0
劳逸平衡
薪酬/福利
工作保障/升迁机会
管理层
工作文化
High Expectations
English Teacher (离职员工) –  Shenzhen, China2019年12月31日
This is a company that doesn't appreciate their employees. High stress environment with little management support. Training is minimal for a job that doesn't require experience but the expectations are very high.
这篇点评对您有用吗? 1报告
2.0
劳逸平衡
薪酬/福利
工作保障/升迁机会
管理层
工作文化
Great experience if you can tolerate a constant state of emergency
Foreign Teacher (离职员工) –  Shanghai, China2019年12月23日
Disney English has some excellent benefits; health care, a relocation bonus, and opportunities for advancement number among them. They are very helpful in making your transition abroad easier, and their teaching structure is simple.

Day to day, you'll love this job. Working with kids has been one of the most rewarding experiences of my life, and helping them learn English is a delight.

However, your experience will be highly dependent on your manager, of which I met very few good ones in Shanghai. Your manager determines which set of classes you will take over, and which Chinese learning partner you are assigned. Their power is great. A peculiar trait I noticed among the company is that promises made are not taken seriously. While I allow much of this disappointment concerns my own former manager, other trainers I have discussed this with have told me that they were being groomed for promotion, though later received no direction on how to proceed.

Because of the relatively low salary compared to other English training centers and the rather limited vacation days, many choose to leave the company after 6 months. This results in a constant shortage of coverage. This results in stressed teachers with less time to plan. If your manager isn't organized and willing to help teach, you'll find people quitting left and right, exacerbating the original issue. On the plus side, they rarely fire anyone.

If you're trying to work for the Disney company, think twice about this one. From the underpaid Chinese staff to the over-worked foreign trainer, there's no Disney magic here.
优点
Free plane ticket, resettlement advance, bilingual healthcare, visa services
缺点
Shortage of vacation days, relatively low salary, odd hours, disorganized/apathetic management, lack of company morals
这篇点评对您有用吗? 2报告
5.0
劳逸平衡
薪酬/福利
工作保障/升迁机会
管理层
工作文化
Loved working for Disney English
ESL Teacher (离职员工) –  广州市2019年12月18日
What a fantastic experience. Yes, one can become homesick but Disney has so many wonderful perks that it makes it all worth it. Teaching 5 days a week with Tuesday and Wednesday or Wednesday and Thursday gives its employees great opportunities to travel.
这篇点评对您有用吗? 1报告
3.0
劳逸平衡
薪酬/福利
工作保障/升迁机会
管理层
工作文化
Most graduates can do better
Foreign Trainer (离职员工) –  广州市2019年11月23日
Good introduction to Teaching English as a foreign Language if you are newly certified in TEFL.
Friendly staff, welcoming and supportive in all aspects of your move to China and your first couple of months there.
Job is ok, most of the guests and cast members are nice. Job can be repetitive and staff change more than you change your underwear.
Course is expensive for guests so unlike other programmes, a lot of emphasis is put on providing a show and doing things to try to justify to parents where their money is going. This can wear on you if you come from a traditional school teaching background, as it becomes more about sales.
Ridiculous structure on what they perceive to be the ideal lesson. If you do not do activities and games they want, in the order or way they want and within very rigid time limits, then your performance is not valued.
Management are nice to your face but can be toxic and immature. Opportunities for advancement are there but the reality is they are limited, as people higher up rarely vacate their positions.
Everyone starts at the same level and cannot enter higher, irrespective of previous experience. People who have been teaching (normal schools or otherwise) for twenty years can start on a lowish salary for their experience and expertise and beneath people who have been at Disney English for two or three years.
Lots of favouritism rather than merit for competency.
这篇点评对您有用吗? 6报告
4.0
劳逸平衡
薪酬/福利
工作保障/升迁机会
管理层
工作文化
It's a good company with good Emp. benefits but a very low salary compared to other competitors in China.
Foreign Trainer (离职员工) –  北京市2019年11月11日
Not a good place to work at for a long period.
They don't reveal the real benefits of a Foreign Trainer. Work involves long weekend hours and requires you to do more acting as a trainer with music. If it's your 1st or 2nd job and you are just out of college with a desire to travel and explore, it's a good place to start. If you are looking for a mid career job with growth potenial and a good salary, I would think twice......
这篇点评对您有用吗? 3报告
3.0
劳逸平衡
薪酬/福利
工作保障/升迁机会
管理层
工作文化
Disney English
Teacher (离职员工) –  杭州市2019年10月28日
There is a lot of potential at this school. There are a lot of resources and you can do a lot for the students. A lot depends on the local management though.
这篇点评对您有用吗? 1报告
4.0
劳逸平衡
薪酬/福利
工作保障/升迁机会
管理层
工作文化
Not a gap year experience
Foreign Trainer (在职员工) –  北京市2019年7月18日
It was a great opportunity to branch into international teaching. Is a good starter. Disney perks are a big plus. The teaching method is very organized and can be a bit strict for teachers used to more leeway.
这篇点评对您有用吗? 1报告
3.0
劳逸平衡
薪酬/福利
工作保障/升迁机会
管理层
工作文化
Stressful job
ESL Trainer (离职员工) –  上海市2019年7月16日
This job was very stressful. You have to do class demos, so that you can sell Disney English to the public. These demos were scripted and you had to do it the same way each time. You also had to sell as many seats in the class as possible. The computers were always breaking down, and the air conditioning never worked in my classroom. My Chinese coworker was paid less than me, and she did more work. Also, she was unable to move up in the company. You were constantly watched and rated by the school manager, and your demos had Disney shoppers who made sure that you were doing your job correctly.
优点
Free Disney passes and discounts
缺点
Very stressful
这篇点评对您有用吗? 6报告
1.0
劳逸平衡
薪酬/福利
工作保障/升迁机会
管理层
工作文化
Definitely not worth leaving the USA to work in Shanghai
FOREIGN TRAINER (离职员工) –  上海市2019年6月30日
I was recruited to work as a foreign trainer in Shanghai, China. My home country is the USA. The job itself does not pay enough, and struggle becomes an issue. Struggle on foreign soil is not fun!
这篇点评对您有用吗? 3报告
4.0
劳逸平衡
薪酬/福利
工作保障/升迁机会
管理层
工作文化
A varied role
FOREIGN LANGUAGE TRAINER (离职员工) –  China2019年6月4日
Teaching with Disney English is a very mixed bag. No two days are ever the same and for some people this is great, for others it can be a real challenge.
Personally I loved the actual teaching aspect of the job. The curriculum is clear, as are the goals and expectations. Seeing the students develop and improve is incredibly rewarding.
The worst part is that each centre is very much its own entity. You won't know until you arrive if the management will be good, bad, or mediocre. Some of the perks are very location dependent. For example, free park entry is great for those in Shanghai, but not so much for someone in Guangzhou.
I also feel that there is not a lot of support during the relocation process. Again, this can vary based on the centre, but I know that every foreign trainer that I worked with was left to fend for themselves.
Overall I would say this is a great introduction to teaching as a foreign language, but definitely go in with your eyes open.
优点
Free entry to Disney parks, discounts on Disney merchandise
缺点
Lack of support from management, a lot of unpredictability
这篇点评对您有用吗? 3报告
4.0
劳逸平衡
薪酬/福利
工作保障/升迁机会
管理层
工作文化
Fun if everything works in your favor
Foreign Trainer (离职员工) –  北京市2019年5月22日
Overall, I had a positive experience; However, many things had to line up in order for that to be the case, and sadly, it is not always so for everyone. I was lucky to have a great Leading Learning Director and friendly cast members who made working at my center a lot of fun. However, my race, personal beliefs, and exterior appearance did make a difference as I was treated kinder by my Chinese cast members than some of my other castmates who came from other countries such as South Africa and the Phillippines. Living in China was also a struggle and will wear on anyone. I would do it all again, but I would not do it for more than my contract.
这篇点评对您有用吗? 7报告
4.0
劳逸平衡
薪酬/福利
工作保障/升迁机会
管理层
工作文化
fun place to work, especially for someone first getting into education
English trainer (离职员工) –  北京市Beijing, China2019年4月15日
Disney English was a fun educational experience. I chose to leave, because as a certified teacher I could make much more money and have better working g at hours at a traditional school.
优点
fun
缺点
weekend and evening hours
这篇点评对您有用吗? 5报告
4.0
劳逸平衡
薪酬/福利
工作保障/升迁机会
管理层
工作文化
fun workplace
Sales & Teaching Assistant (离职员工) –  China2018年3月13日
It is a fun place to work and you can learn loads of things there as well. The company help employees get balance between work and life, managers are nice to get along with.
优点
flexible time
缺点
pay is not good
这篇点评对您有用吗? 1 2报告
5.0
劳逸平衡
薪酬/福利
工作保障/升迁机会
管理层
工作文化
Being a cast member for the Walt Disney Company
Foreign Trainer (离职员工) –  Shanghai, China2016年10月13日
Being a cast member for the Walt Disney Company was a pleasure, management are friendly and always approachable. The company offers cast members many opportunities to grow and learn, from volunteering to lead presentations to completing online courses which made available to all cast members.
优点
Free online courses
缺点
12 hours shifts
这篇点评对您有用吗? 1报告
4.0
劳逸平衡
薪酬/福利
工作保障/升迁机会
管理层
工作文化
Good working environment, nice colleagues, supportive leader, good enterprise culture
English Language Trainer (在职员工) –  Guangzhou, China2016年4月10日
It's a very good company and nice place to growth and stay.
The Company provides many opportunities to employees, help them to learn and growth.
这篇点评对您有用吗? 1报告
2.0
劳逸平衡
薪酬/福利
工作保障/升迁机会
管理层
工作文化
Amateurish Training School
Foreign Trainer (离职员工) –  Shanghai, China2016年2月14日
Disney English has the potential to be a very successful English training school but they haven't been able to achieve because the management doesn't have the abilities to balance financial gain and education. Sales teams are put under a lot of pressure and given very high sales target to boost income but it creates lots of problems in the end. Over promising to parents, telling parents their kids will be fluent in a very short time. Putting children in an unsuitable age group, very young children are put in high level classes because parents demand it. Giving lots of discounts and free classes and make teachers overwork.

Teaching English to children can be very rewarding. However, with the amount of unnecessary stress, the job becomes very hard and no longer enjoyable.
优点
Disney perks, insurances, good salary
缺点
very long working hours, you can't really sit down, have to dance and play while wearing dress shoes, inconsistency despite having a SOP, management is very immature
这篇点评对您有用吗? 5报告
4.0
劳逸平衡
薪酬/福利
工作保障/升迁机会
管理层
工作文化
Such amazing promise, such great people, lacking leadership.
Academic Management Task Force (离职员工) –  Shanghai2015年10月15日
I consider it a privilege to have worked for a Disney company. I was always a hard-worker, intelligent, and personable, but the culture and the coaches I found working for Disney English helped transform me into a true professional.

Working in this position was an amazing opportunity. Inside the corporate office I had the opportunity to write policy, contribute to new product direction, shape personnel decisions, and advise senior management on strategy. One of my favorite contributions was to the Learning and Development team, where I contributed regularly with instructional design of training materials and helped deliver them once completed.

Outside the office, I had the opportunity to visit most of the centers over all of China. I was able to open new locations, coach new managers, report on regional direction and strategy, and collect best practices for integration into training courses and sharing among the other centers and regions.

The difficulty, ultimately, was the same at day one as it was on my last day. Namely that the company's leadership never took the opportunity in the 5 1/2 years I worked there to actively shape the culture and focus on engagement of our personnel. Instead of taking a firm hand in modeling and shaping the corporate culture from the GM office to the janitors closet, the leadership allowed local and regional cultures to define themselves. This often ended with me being needed to go and re-train and re-coach. There was no excuse for this, as a Disney company there was an overabundance of rich heritage and proven culture to draw on. Yet,
  更多... the hardest part of my job was ultimately one of the most common occurrences: listening to a cast member say "I know this isn't the 'real' Disney, but..."

This is a lesson I'll never forget, and in my future positions will take to heart.
  显示更少
优点
Amazing tradition to be a part of, amazing co-workers, great physical support
缺点
No defined culture, lack of leadership, lack of purpose, lack of engagement
这篇点评对您有用吗? 3报告
4.0
劳逸平衡
薪酬/福利
工作保障/升迁机会
管理层
工作文化
A great company to work for
Foreign Trainer (离职员工) –  Hangzhou, China2014年9月20日
In China there are many language schools looking to take advantage of foreigners, but at Disney the employees are well cared for. From the moment I landed, I had health insurance, a bank account and a phone. Though there are many areas of the company could use improvement (organization, communication about days off) on the whole, my experience with Disney was a very positive one. I enjoyed teaching English through play-centered activities and using my creative talents in the lessons. My coworkers and supervisors at the Wulin center in Hangzhou were all pleasant to be around, supportive, and interested in putting the kids first.
优点
Healthcare, Western management team ensures clear communication for foreign staff
缺点
Long works hours on the weekend
这篇点评对您有用吗? 3报告
公司页面已被认领

想要了解更多在这里工作的感受?

您可以向其他用户提问在Disney English工作或面试的经历。

提问

整体评分

3.4
基于30条点评
53
416
34
24
13

按类别评分

2.6工作与生活
3.4薪酬/福利
3.3工作保障/升迁机会
3.1管理层
3.3企业文化

按地点分类Disney English的评论