EF English First点评

已找到符合搜索的106条评价 查看 178 条评论
排序方式: 是否有帮助 | 评分 | 时间
2.0
劳逸平衡
薪酬/福利
工作保障/升迁机会
管理层
工作文化
Poor management and equality
English Teacher (离职员工) –  北京市2019年8月21日
Absolutely loved my colleagues and my kids and it is a good first step to working and living in China but progression is minimal and management pick favourites and rules change from school to school which is not fair. Wouldn’t recommend unless nothing better.
这篇点评对您有用吗?报告
2.0
劳逸平衡
薪酬/福利
工作保障/升迁机会
管理层
工作文化
EF Shanghai is a different animal
Teacher (在职员工) –  上海市2019年8月12日
EF China is not EF Boston or EF S. Africa, or EF in other countries. Personal stories have informed me that work cultures are different and even experience at one place isn't transferable or applicable to increases in raises.

Management is a *coin-flip*. I've had both the good managers and the bad ones, but they keep getting replaced because no one wants to work an effective 6 days a week. Your Production Manager is not upper level management. You don't get anything from skipping your *poor* manager to tell the PM. Teachers do not get access to upper level management.

EF takes everyone and fires no one, so long as you follow basic work life courtesies: be open to criticism, don't shout/swear in a class for no reason, and don't drink in the office (there is a recent article out in China about how an EF office in Shenzhen had 6 teachers and 6 college level students arrested for drug use). They are trying to be objective in their promotion system, but in reality, upper management wants teachers to be paid as little as possible while charging as much as possible to parents who'll pay for it.

At least your visa is valid unlike some of their competitors, but the company holds your visa when by right it's yours. This is to ensure you can't easily get poached. You would have to leave the country and come back.To be fair, people have done that, but it's not that easy.

You will not have a basic weekend because you work the after school schedule. Also, the center never closes, so it's a disjointed off schedule. You won't really get to know half of your coworkers.

9/10.
  更多... It has a little something for everyone.  显示更少
这篇点评对您有用吗?报告
1.0
劳逸平衡
薪酬/福利
工作保障/升迁机会
管理层
工作文化
EF is only concerned about themselves
English Teacher (离职员工) –  Changchun, Jilin2019年8月9日
They don’t care who they screw over in the long run. China is now the only country in the world I can’t work in and it is all thanks to EF. They begged me to stay, I was a senior teacher, I trained many of the new teachers. Just Bc I didn't stay, they intentionally didn’t give me my exiting letter. Which means I can never get approved for a chinese visa again. Two years later when I asked about my exiting letter they made up some lie, so as not to give it back
优点
Not many
缺点
Many
这篇点评对您有用吗? 1报告
5.0
劳逸平衡
薪酬/福利
工作保障/升迁机会
管理层
工作文化
Great company. long hours
English Teacher (离职员工) –  Shanghai2019年8月9日
Great Company that is very reputable. They get you to China by handling the whole visa process. Some days can be hard but at the end you have to realize teaching is a job.
这篇点评对您有用吗?报告
4.0
劳逸平衡
薪酬/福利
工作保障/升迁机会
管理层
工作文化
Fun workplace with opportunities to advance
Director of Studies (离职员工) –  无锡市2019年8月7日
I found my time at EF to be very useful for my development as a teacher and somewhat as a manager. New employees have a lot of support. However teacher managers do not have much accountability, which limits growth.
这篇点评对您有用吗?报告
1.0
劳逸平衡
薪酬/福利
工作保障/升迁机会
管理层
工作文化
EF is the ESL version of "paying your dues"
ESL Teacher (离职员工) –  Shenzhen CN2019年8月2日
I had a horrible experience with EF. I was disregarded, scheduled unfairly, and sometimes ignored. There was one point I was accidentally terminated causing me to lose one month's pay. I was constantly told how horrible I was as a teacher with very few/generic suggestions of how I can become better. There was no real work/life balance because of the days I was scheduled off. They want you to kneel down and take whatever nonsense they give you because they think it will make you work harder for their approval. From the beginning of your contract, they already make the decision if they like you or not and if they don't brace yourself. The one good thing I would say is that because of EF's reputation, working for them for a year looks really nice on your CV. Still, if you want to jump-start your ESL career, there are less corrupted companies to work for. Don't be fooled by the free flight and the fun promises, it is a trap.
这篇点评对您有用吗? 1报告
3.0
劳逸平衡
薪酬/福利
工作保障/升迁机会
管理层
工作文化
A product rather than a human being
English Teacher (在职员工) –  CN2019年7月23日
As an EF employee you will be part of the company’s brand and will be considered one of their products. As a product, you are expected to draw in more money from customers (families). Appearances are very important to the company and they try their hardest to make everything look perfect and it might on the outside.

outside.
优点
Workers paid on time
缺点
Bias
这篇点评对您有用吗? 1报告
4.0
劳逸平衡
薪酬/福利
工作保障/升迁机会
管理层
工作文化
An easy and fun job, but a hit or miss with management.
International Teacher (离职员工) –  Shanghai, China2019年7月8日
EF is a very fair company to work for, there are a lot of events for teacher wellness, the on-boarding process is very informative and depending on your mentor you could have a good time getting adjusted to the position, there is also a lot of opportunity to move up and the DOS will should be straight forward about it.
I was fortunate enough to have a great DOS who was transparent and fair, the office was also friendly and fun, at least for me, my center appreciated me and always made me feel welcome. I cannot say the same for other centers.
As a teacher for kids and teens you will teach students between the ages of 3-18 and be prepared to do a lot of lesson planning if your DOS is "by the book". I inherited a large amount of classes from another teacher. I really enjoyed the younger classes and the oldest classes however the mid level classes were a little troublesome.
You will get a lot of training to reflect on during the entire job so you can learn different management styles from training or other teachers as well as activities.
Be prepared to perform you will be expected to do a DEMO once or twice a week. This is where you will have to teach a random group of children(usually ages 3-5) in front of their parents. Its not hard, but it is a hit or miss.
The job is easy but the pay is not that great in comparison to other schools or training centers. as well some centers are not as fair because their DOS is not doing their job well, some other teachers are cheated out of money due to their DOS not following up.
Another issue and to be warned to anyone thinking
  更多... of working for EF in a large city in China is that the income WILL be low for the first several months and you will not receive a full paycheck IF you take the cash advance.
There is no way to determine how much money you will need to bring when trying to find an apartment. some apartments will require 4 months rent and one month deposit, but as a foreigner those requirements might be tripled one apartment tried to charge me 7 months rent and 1 month deposit which added up to around $7000 USD. EF will offer you a 10,000 RMB cash advance to help you pay for your apartment, but you WILL have to pay it back in increments over time.
I started EF in August and didn't get a full paycheck until February so budget well....
  显示更少
优点
Fun work place, great management (center dependent), benefits, alot of company support.
缺点
low pay, bad management (center dependent), HQ could be more transparent.
这篇点评对您有用吗? 4报告
3.0
劳逸平衡
薪酬/福利
工作保障/升迁机会
管理层
工作文化
Fun
Teacher, An English Second Language (ESL) (在职员工) –  北京市2019年7月8日
Working for EF in Beijing, China was an experience. The kids are cute, and you can get attached to some of them. Plus you meet some great people from around the world while being in another country. Unfortunately, if you are there to save and make money, expect to be there for a while. The pay is ok. Just expect to live frugally for a while. Rent can be expensive for foreigners, the cost of living is higher than in other cities, and if you want to partake in different events you need money. You get paid for each teaching hour, not for every hour you are at the center. Some days you can be at the center for roughly 11 hours which is too long to be at work. If people call off it's even worse. I don't think the pay is worth the stress.
It can be a little unorganized and when you find out how much the parents pay compared to the salary of the employees it can be quite upsetting.
That aside, I loved the kids and if the job paid more I would have stayed, but they didn't and I didn't go to China to work non-stop and not be able to afford to explore. If you go, you'll love it. Just don't expect good money for your efforts.
这篇点评对您有用吗? 4报告
3.0
劳逸平衡
薪酬/福利
工作保障/升迁机会
管理层
工作文化
good brand but seem to forget that students are customers
ESL English Teacher (离职员工) –  无锡市2019年6月23日
The chinese staff was great to work with. The pay is a bit low but no concern about getting paid. Promotion seemed more on politics than on ability.
这篇点评对您有用吗? 1报告
4.0
劳逸平衡
薪酬/福利
工作保障/升迁机会
管理层
工作文化
Good Overall To work for
ESL Teacher (离职员工) –  广州市2019年6月16日
Company works hard at making employers have a decent work, life balance. Fairly good training and fairly good work culture. The company works at providing the tools and resources need to do your job effectively. I recommend it.
这篇点评对您有用吗?报告
4.0
劳逸平衡
薪酬/福利
工作保障/升迁机会
管理层
工作文化
a good place to teach
Local Teacher (离职员工) –  西安市2019年6月5日
I could still remember the old happy days teaching very-young learners in EF. Actually, I visited my workplace this May. My colleagues were still remember me. EF has a very pleasant working atmosphere for foreign English teachers and the salaries are different from local teachers. Foreign English teachers are paid higher.
这篇点评对您有用吗?报告
3.0
劳逸平衡
薪酬/福利
工作保障/升迁机会
管理层
工作文化
Not for everyone
Teacher (离职员工) –  天津市2019年6月3日
EF offers some exciting opportunities for new teachers. For me, I felt that the training they gave was insufficient to do the job I was asked to do and other staff members could become irritated if I didn't just figure things out. Compensation is at a lower rate than what is on offer from their competitors. Recruiters don't tell new hires about seasonal courses. At least in China, you'll be working six days a week during the summer with the opportunity to earn a pitiful bonus that they can withhold for almost any reason. If you love children, are passionate about teaching in another country, and you don't mind a cliquey office culture then EF can be a good starting job. I probably wouldn't recommend staying longer than one or two contracts personally.
这篇点评对您有用吗?报告
4.0
劳逸平衡
薪酬/福利
工作保障/升迁机会
管理层
工作文化
Constructive workplace for any level of experienced teacher
Teacher (在职员工) –  Beijing, China2019年5月27日
Overall EF has been a good place to work. They offer an extensive amount of in-school resources to help with planning and teaching your lessons, as well as available trainings and certifications to improve your skills professionally. The work load and schedule can be stressful, but manageable as the overall work environment is friendly and helpful. Pay is less competitive than what I’ve heard other companies in China are willing to pay, and if you are living in a larger city like Beijing it is challenging to cover your monthly expenses while having the comfort of traveling and also being able to save a little. You will most likely have to choose one or the other. This being said, EF provides incentive for sticking around including performance bonuses and anniversary raises. However, this remains uncompetitive when compared to the base salary of other companies. Overall I think that EF is a good place to work if you are serious about working in the ESL field internationally. They provide you the opportunity for extensive personal and professional development as well as some adequate room for career advancement in the education field. I also recommend it for anybody just starting out as an English teacher because the resources available at EF are structured yet flexible, so it can be utilized by any level of experienced teacher.
优点
Plenty of constructive resources and assistance, facilitates personal and professional growth
缺点
Low pay compared to other companies in the same market, challenging schedule
这篇点评对您有用吗?报告
4.0
劳逸平衡
薪酬/福利
工作保障/升迁机会
管理层
工作文化
Ef
International ESL Teacher (离职员工) –  Shanghai2019年5月21日
It was a good experience working in a different culture with a variety of people. The company is very supportive but could offer higher compensation for moving across the country.
这篇点评对您有用吗?报告
4.0
劳逸平衡
薪酬/福利
工作保障/升迁机会
管理层
工作文化
It was usually fun and it provided great training and assistance with moving to and living in China.
English Teacher (离职员工) –  石家庄市2019年5月6日
It is a good place to start teaching English abroad. They train well and you can trust them to help you settle in and be paid on time. The apartments they provided were pretty nice overall.
They had a tendency to swap work days around for holidays and there is always the tension of education vs sales. I left because other schools paid much better and had fewer hours.
I am happy I started there as I would have been lost without training.
Overall, it was a good time while it lasted. Wednesday through Friday we prepared in the afternoons and taught in the evenings. Saturdays and Sundays were a bit rough, as we taught or prepped for 12 hours or each day. Monday and Tuesday was our weekend.
优点
Training, Moving Assistance, Housing provided
这篇点评对您有用吗?报告
5.0
劳逸平衡
薪酬/福利
工作保障/升迁机会
管理层
工作文化
Best way to start ESL
English Teacher (离职员工) –  邯郸市2019年5月3日
WoW learned so much !

Long hours, hard work but if you are just starting out its a great way to learn and work.

They really do allot to train staff it very much depends on who the managers are.
这篇点评对您有用吗? 1报告
4.0
劳逸平衡
薪酬/福利
工作保障/升迁机会
管理层
工作文化
Flexible job make it what you want
ESL Teacher (在职员工) –  Shenzhen, China2019年4月30日
EF is a great company for a variety if people from those just out of college looking to spend a year abroad to this who are looking to make a career out of ESL education. I’d definitely recommend it to people looking to travel and live abroad.
这篇点评对您有用吗?报告
3.0
劳逸平衡
薪酬/福利
工作保障/升迁机会
管理层
工作文化
Working with Adults is meaningful
English Teacher (在职员工) –  深圳市2019年4月30日
My manager is very good at what they do and is very understanding. The job itself is not just a teaching position but rather a jack of all trades job. You need to be able to sell yourself as a teacher to potential new students, you need to put on a good show when creating parties to recruit new students, you need to utilize your own interests and abilities to educate current students weekly, as well as teach multiple classes a day. All of this is required of you and sometimes more but you get paid significantly less than any other teaching position within the same city! It’s great that EF helps you to get to China and has a decent introduction to China when you arrive but that’s all I’d praise for this company.
优点
Help with all paperwork to get to China and two week introduction
缺点
You get paid $6, 000 less than every other teacher in China
这篇点评对您有用吗? 1报告
EF English First的官方回复
2019年7月26日

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at EF. We are happy to hear that you had a strong manager who was passionate about their job. Over the past few years, we have increased our training offering and expanded our training team with highly skilled trainers. It's great to learn that you have directly benefited from the training we provided, as well as incorporated your own skills and teaching style. Teaching is a very demanding job and should be rewarded accordingly. Regarding compensation, we make it a priority to review salary structures on a regular basis to ensure they are in line with local standards and allow our international staff to live a comfortable lifestyle in the larger Chinese cities. We understand the competitive nature of the ESL industry in China, and we provide not only competitive salaries, but also comprehensive benefits including, but not limited to, paid visas, flight allowance, health insurance, annual leave, national holidays, paid training, bonuses, and sponsored teacher events. Thank you again for reaching out.

4.0
劳逸平衡
薪酬/福利
工作保障/升迁机会
管理层
工作文化
Solid work it you make the effort
EFEC Teacher (在职员工) –  Beijing, China2019年4月23日
I work at one of the quieter centres, so my schedule is pretty chill most of the time. However I hear at the more busy centres, work and life balance can be difficult to manage.

A lot of the work is trial by fire. Even though training is given, it is bare bone at minimum. Your development is mostly individualistic unless you personally reach out (aggressively) to your peers and others, so active communication is key if you intend to enjoy your time with this company.

Make the best of what you have, and most of the time your best should and will be enough to get you through.
优点
Friendly staff and students, manageable work hours and workload
缺点
Occasional miscommunication and red tape
这篇点评对您有用吗?报告
EF English First的官方回复
2019年8月2日

Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. We're happy to hear you enjoyed working with your coworkers and students, and enjoyed the work-life balance your schedule gave you. Over the past few years, we have worked hard to increase our training offering, and have expanded our training team with highly skilled trainers to conduct our training programs to assist with the growth and development of our teachers. We're disappointed to hear that this was something you felt that you didn't benefit greatly from, and felt that you had to fight for. We value and appreciate all of the hard work and hours that our teachers put into teaching their students. We do understand that the nature of ESL teaching requires alot of hard work and energy from our teachers, and we try to make sure the schedules are as balanced as possible in all of our centers to give our teachers the time to rest in between. We know this isn't always the case for every center, and we recognize that this is an area that could use improvement. We thank you for your time teaching with us and appreciate your comments. If you have anything further to add, please reach out to us at techer.feedback@ef.com.

公司页面已被认领

想要了解更多在这里工作的感受?

您可以向其他用户提问在EF English First工作或面试的经历。

提问

整体评分

3.7
基于178条点评
547
469
338
210
114

按类别评分

3.6工作与生活
3.3薪酬/福利
3.5工作保障/升迁机会
3.5管理层
3.8企业文化

按地点分类EF English First的评论